Schedule of lectures

STAT/BIOSTAT 550 A: Spring 2014

THIS SCHEDULE IS PRELIMINARY, AND SUBJECT TO CHANGE

Date
Topic
References and remarks
Monday, March 31
8.30-9.20
1.1 Mendel's laws.
1.1 Hardy-Weinberg equilibrium.
1.1 Meiosis and Recombination
Background on Genetics
Background on likelihood
Homework 1 (due 4/4/2014))
Chap 1.1 to 1.4 (posted 3/29/2014)
Wednesday, April 2
8.30-9:20
1.2.1 Allele and genotype frequencies;
1.2.2-3 Estimating frequencies
1.2.4 Population subdivision.
Setup for Computing (3/30/2014)
Friday, April 4
8.30-9:20
Computing setup; getting started;
Homework 1 discussion
Some software info (3/30/2014)
Homework 1 due
-
Monday, April 7
8.30-9.20
1.2.5 Another estimation example
1.3.1 Testing HWE
1.3.2-5 Testing the ABO blood groups
Homework 2 (Posted 4/01/2014)
Wednesday, April 9
8.30-9:20
1.4 Gene counting and the EM algorithm 4-minute Synthesis 1.1-1.2.4; Brenda.
Friday, April 11
8.30-9:20
Homework 2 discussion;
More on computing/software.
Homework 2 due
Lab 1 (posted 4/08/2014)
-
Monday, April 14
8.30-9.20
1.5 Haplotypes and Phasing. Chap 1.5 to 1.6 (posted 4/08/2014)
Homework 3 (posted 4/08/2014)
First half only: Q1 and Q4
Stephens' ppt on Clark
Wednesday, April 16
8.30-9:20
1.6 Linkage disequilibrium.
Chap 2.1, 2.2 (posted 4/13/2014)
4-minute Synthesis 1.2.5-1.4; Jane.
Friday, April 18
8.30-9:20
Lab 1 and Homework 3 discussion. Homework 3 (Q1 and Q4 ONLY) and Lab 1 due.
-
Monday, April 21
8.30-9.20
2.1 Defining pedigrees and relationships
2.2.1 Gene identity by descent
Lab 2 and (optional) Pedfiddler information.
NOTE: All should be ok for lab-2 now.
A note on Homework-3 Qu.1 (posted 04/19/2014)
Wednesday, April 23
8.30-9:20
2.2.2-4 Kinship and inbreeding
2.2.5 Inbreeding and genotype frequencies
Synthesis of 1.5, 1.6: Ju
An interesting pedigree! (posted 04/19/2014)
Friday, April 25
8:30-9:20
Homework 3, Q2 and Q3 due.
Also Lab 2 due.
-
Monday, April 28
8.30-9.20
2.3 IBD in pairs of non-inbred relatives Chap 2.3, 2.4 (posted 4/19/2014)
Homework 4, due Friday May 2.
Wednesday, April 30
8.30-9:20
2.4 Probabilities of data on relatives. ?? to summarize
-